I am a green dump truck

I AM A GREEN DUMP TRUCK

filled to the brim with empathy

sloshing my contents

on streets

in yards

of strangers and friends

I am trying to be delicate

but my steering-wheel is unwieldy

and my tires are the size of corollas

I slosh unsolicited empathy

in big sloshy splotches

and the people stare   

and no one seems to see

that there is beauty inside me

I feel clumsy behind my own wheel

sometimes I drive slowly and quietly

and hide in parking lots for hours

because no one wants to come around the corner

and get sloshed

and I don’t know where to put my hands

pockets or gestures seem forced and

I just want to let everyone know

that I love them

but dump trucks are noisy

Leave a Reply

