In a Sweater on the Couch

The repetition of preparing
Of getting ready for things to unfold

for drives in cars past sun over green mountains
and work at desks with people in green army jackets
and plastic rimmed glasses

the moments of coffee
black and smooth
still and hot
steam its dissipation and apathy
the way morning sun turns into afternoon heat
without me lifting a finger

I want to eat breakfast for as long as possible
I want to eat breakfast
more than I want to eat breakfast
and I want to drink coffee
more than I want to drink coffee

my hands something to do
my brain convinced it is warming up for some reason
as coffee cools to temperatures that
allow for rapid consumption

And now as I vibrate and anxiety creeps
I continue to prepare
backstage jitters even as day unfolds and
afternoon heat drifts into evening colors
splayed across same sky eventually
overrun by the spilling black and solipsism of night

Don’t move me from here
But please show up at some point
carrying mug of your own
carrying meaning in a mug of your own
carrying something for us to share
carrying me into tomorrow
sleeping closely in ribbons of grey bed sheet
that turn black with burning out of bulbs
but whose blackness doesn’t have to be lonely

1 thought on “In a Sweater on the Couch”

Leave a Reply

