Basset Hound

From the rhythm of pain

I’ve gleaned a few lessons

That I don’t expect to share

anytime soon

But the budding or shedding

or growth or decay

and the second hand dancing

to the beat of its own drum

and encouraging so many of us

to follow

is really the same

as most everything

Vernon said no free history

but poetry doesn’t quite work like that

so if you get something

you don’t owe me nothing

and we can even print off a separate copy

of the receipt if you’d like
forty-five degrees

to pour india pale ale into glass

or to describe something mathematical

and for once seem aware

but everyone is always

more or less estimating

I don’t mind so much

when they’re wrong

it’s just that I never miss what I’m aiming for

even if I don’t see it

until the car crashes

god damned astigmatism

Leave a Reply

