Mister Frodo (Montezuma)

I remember when the fire started

really started

flames

like high speed

footage of fungus

burst from the soil

and struck me

tenderly

in the stomach

around the corner

water kept falling

over the edge of

some insignificant precipice

carved by water

falling over its edge

further around the corner

where my mom might keep the

vacuum cleaner

was a hollow

and a pool

and in my imagination

peace

and snakes

and with the roar

of water

echoing

I sang loudly

to and for myself

for the first time

since

there was no one

at home to sing to

Leave a Reply

