Reflection: November 5, 2013

Every night I ride down Ave D.

Yet as the cool air greets my face,

I’m uneasy.

It’s the long stretches of familiarity that nurtures in my mind that awful solipsism. 

The devil that rips me away from the worthy emotions–

the usual emotions,

the human emotions–

and leads to depression.

 But,

Breaks in familiarity spark momentary peace. 

 

Two parallel windows

perched high among a

tall, plain white wall.

The windows chanting rhythmic pulses of the bluest

light.

 

Probably a television set 

An action scene with gratuitous amounts of gunfire

flashing loudly inside the home

 

But for now,

that steady silent beat

of electric blue 

grounds my wavering mind

with its unconventional beauty.

Leave a Reply

