Hourglass

Time is my only judge

And I’m sinking into this pile of sand

Arms stiff and I can’t budge

Father tell me is this a man?

Struggle enough to break free

Fill my lungs and then retreat

Into the darkness that only takes away

Yet lying here with nothing I see it all anyway

Distant visions of greener lands

Somewhere I could stake my claim

Uncharted Colombia’s for me to land

But I too would curse the natives by my hand

So cover me in dust dear God

and leave me to rust. Fear not,

Family, for this is all I am

Struggle, denial, too weak to stand

And I do feel happy some days

And I do feel happy most days

But I do believe I’m lying someway

But I do believe I’m lying sideways

Leave a Reply

